Showing posts with label graphic editing. Show all posts
Showing posts with label graphic editing. Show all posts

Friday, June 8, 2018

How to Make a Transparent PNG in PhotoPad

How to Make a Transparent PNG in PhotoPad

What is a PNG image?

PNG stands for Portable Network Graphics. PNG files are great for use on the internet because they support transparency and because they are compact in size. They are commonly used for web design elements such as icons and logos. PNG graphics are incredibly versatile in their web applications. They can be used against any background and can make adding graphics to websites and other design projects extremely simple. PNG graphics are easy to use and they also happen to be easy to make. With a photo editing software like PhotoPad, you can make your own transparent PNG images for use in your next website or graphic design project.

Example of a PNG logo improving a website



How to Make a PNG Image with a Transparent Background

If you are starting from scratch and creating your own graphic, making a PNG image with a transparent background is easy. Open your latest version of PhotoPad and create a new file with a transparent background to work on. You can create a new project file from the New Image Menu by pressing Ctrl + N on your keyboard and then selecting the option that says Transparent for the background. If you have already made a new blank project file in PhotoPad, simply go the Edit tab, then choose Background and select Transparent. You will see that your white background has now been replaced with a faint grey and white checkerboard. This checkerboard means that the image effectively has no background. Any work that you do on top of the checkerboard will be the only thing that gets saved.

How to remove the background of an image in PhotoPad
Creating a New Image with a Transparent Background


Try visiting the NCH Clipart Library under the Creative tab to add clipart to your transparent design project. The Clipart Library is filled with fun and interesting images that are great for use in logos and other graphic design projects.

NCH Clipart library with PNG images
NCH Clipart Library 

You can add text onto your transparent background too. Under the Tools tab you can select Text and then change the font, color, size and placement of your text on your new graphic. Many modern logos use two different fonts or two different font sizes for their company name and tagline.

Example of a PNG image being used on a photograph
Adding text onto a transparent background


Removing the Background from an Image

If you already have an existing logo or graphic that you would like to make into a PNG image with a transparent background, no sweat. Open your file into PhotoPad and select the Wand Tool. The wand tool makes a selection by looking for the contrast between colors against the edge of your graphic and its background. You can adjust the level of sensitivity of the Wand Tool depending on how sharp the contrast between your image against its background is. Click on the background of your image with the wand tool to select it. We are trying to select everything that we want to get rid of. The wand tool makes one selection around the outline first. To select any additional elements you wish to remove, hold down the shift key while you click on those other areas in the image. It helps to zoom in close in order to select the smaller details such as the spaces inside letters like like "O" and "D."

Making a Wand Selection

Now that we have our background selected, we are going to simply press the delete key on our keyboard or right click and select "delete". This will delete all of the selected areas in the image. In our case that means it will delete everything except our logo. You will immediately see that the background has disappeared and in its place there is now a white and grey checkerboard. The checkerboard means that there is nothing there anymore. So when we go to save our image, only the graphic will be saved and nothing else.

Delete Your Background Selection

Saving an Image as a PNG File

Once we are finished making our background transparent, we are ready to to save the image as a PNG file. Saving an image as a PNG in PhotoPad is very simple. Go to the File tab in the upper left hand corner of the program and then select the option Save As... You can also get there by simple pressing Ctrl + Shift + S on your keyboard. Change the Save as Type: from the drop-down menu to PNG (*.png) and then click Save.

Saving a file as a PNG

Using Your PNG Image File

Now that we have successfully saved our graphic as a PNG file, it is ready for use on the web or in your next graphic design project. You will notice that when you preview the file on your computer,  the background is completely gone. This will remain the case wherever you choose to use your new PNG image. Drag it directly back into PhotoPad to place it on any other image or background you would like, or upload it to the web for seamless integration on your website.

Transparent PNG logos on photo backgrounds


Tuesday, October 3, 2017

Create your own Cartoons and Comics using our New Speech Bubbles Feature in DrawPad



Cartoon created using DrawPad's New Feature - Speech Bubbles


Design your own Cartoon or Comic with DrawPad

To get started creating your own cartoon, you will need:
Now that you're ready, it's time to get creative!




To create a cartoon using DrawPad Graphic Design Software, open the program and select 'New Project'. Optionally, select the 'Advanced' option if you wish to enter specific dimensions for your project.


Create the setting for your cartoon

Select the background color and start gathering the image assets to create the context for your cartoon.


Download icons, silhouettes and more from the included Clipart library in DrawPad, or,


import your own images using the 'Add Image' option.



If you are feeling artistic, draw or sketch using the wide variety of drawing tools available - Pen, Pencil, Brush, Marker, Crayon, Spray Paint and set shapes. Each tool can further be customized to suit your requirements.

For example, the brush tool includes options such as color, brush size, softness and smoothing in the properties panel. With shapes, you can set the fill to use one of the included patterns.



Once you have all of of the pieces ready, arrange them using drag and drop to create the setting for your comic or cartoon.




Add in the characters

Add, import, draw or sketch the characters for your cartoon.



Add Speech Bubbles

Use DrawPad's newest feature Speech Bubbles to add narratives for the characters. The speech bubble can be added using the 'Bubble' option under the 'Home' Tab.

Before drawing your speech bubble, adjust the settings in the Bubble Options panel on the right. Select the size of the speech bubble border, the direction the callout is pointing and whether the callout is on the right or the left of the speech bubble.



The Clipart library also includes a variety of speech bubble styles. The only drawback being that they are not as easy to customize.



Add Text in the speech bubbles

Use the text tool to add your narration to the speech bubbles.

Cartoon created using DrawPad's New Feature - Speech Bubbles

Share your Cartoon or Comic

After following these simple steps, you will have a cartoon or comic that you will be excited to share with your friends, family and the world. Share it via email, social media or order a professional print.

The options are as endless as your imagination.